AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Turntables & Vinyl > Phono-Pre Amps & Cartridges

Phono-Pre Amps & Cartridges Welcome to the Dark Side!

Old 05-04-2013, 02:18 PM

Default Impedance Matching for McIntosh C2300 and Sumiko Blue Point No. 2

First of all, I'm a newb when it comes to analog audio, so please excuse my ignorance. I tried researching this question before posting, but I'm not finding the answers I'm looking for.

I'm using a Project Xperience Classic TT which is equipped with a Sumiko Blue Point No. 2 cartridge directly to the moving coil phono stage in my McIntosh C2300. I noticed a pretty huge improvement in sound quality when I raised the PHMC impedance setting on the preamp from the default 25 ohms. Currently I have the setting at 200 or 500ohms which seems pretty good to my ear.

From what I understand, this impedance is supposed to be matched to the cartridge, but I can't find anything on what is best for my Sumiko cartridge.

Anyone have any ideas what this setting should be set to or how to find out? What are the trade offs of going up or down?

Thanks!

Last edited by mgbaron; 05-04-2013 at 02:36 PM.
Old 05-04-2013, 02:30 PM
Merry Christmas to all

Matt.......The C2300 moving magnet phono stage input is preset at 47K ohms and cannot be adjusted. The setting you are making changes to is the capacitance loading which can impact a moving magnet cartridge performance, but more often than not the performance of a moving coil cartridge is not affected by changes in capacitance.

Your Sumiko Blue Point No. 2 is a high output moving coil cartridge with a 47K load impedance. It should work perfectly with either the moving magnet or moving coil inputs on the C2300.

Sumiko Blue Point No. 2 Specifications:

•High output moving coil phono cartridge
•0.3mm by 0.7 mm elliptical diamond stylus
•Frequency Response 15Hz-35KHz
•Output Voltage/Channel 2.5mV
•Channel Separation 32dB
•Channel Balance 0.5dB
•Compliance (x10-6 cm/dyne) 15