AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Audio & Video > Power Conditioners

Power Conditioners Voltage regulation to AC Regeneration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-31-2011, 11:14 PM
f1 fan's Avatar
f1 fan f1 fan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 12,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puma Cat
No, I don't; it's connected directly to the wall. My understanding is that the Running Springs Conditioners are thie one that best support an amp plugged into them. Don't know about the PPCs, though.
+1...directly into wall.

Dave

Sent from my iPhone using A.Aficionado
__________________
It's About The Music...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-01-2011, 05:30 AM
prepress's Avatar
prepress prepress is offline
Semi-audiophile
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Brooklyn, by way of Nashville
Posts: 2,664
Default

Everything's plugged into a Furman SPR-20i voltage regulator, which (of necessity) is chained to a Furman Elite-15 PFi; Before the SPR it was a Tripplite LCR2400; both are capable of everything the wall has to offer. The Elite, though 15A, offers 55A of reserve current. My system doesn't pull more than about 4.5A when watching a DVD/BD and only 1.6–1.8A when listening to music. So I have plenty of power.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-01-2011, 10:19 AM
esteban's Avatar
esteban esteban is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hollywood, Florida
Posts: 866
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bart View Post
You're absolutely right. Burmester also gives the advice to use 2 948's when you have 2 of their mighty 909 power amps; my set-up is more modest though and the 948 provides plenty of pure juice for all my equipment. It got a Golden Ear Award from TAS a couple of years ago by the way.
That was my understanding as well, and the reason why I asked the original question in this thread. I use a PS Audio Duet, which supposedly is one of the few conditioners that does not limit the current flow. I am experimenting at the moment to see what sounds best, but my amp is really not too thirsty. The manual states a 250W consumption. Initial comparisons did not show any differences at all, truth be told (and I live in a condo). The biggest difference the PS made in my system was the improvement on the VIDEO side of things. The picture quality on my Panasonic plasma is definitely more stable, less "grainy", and contrast has a lot more "punch".

Thanks all for your input.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-01-2011, 12:53 PM
TMcD's Avatar
TMcD TMcD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 453
Default

I do run my amp directly into the wall as well, a while ago I had a separate plug installed with its own 20amp breaker. It made a big difference in sound. I run everything else through a balanced power unit with good results.
__________________
VPI Scoutmaster; JMW-9 Signature; Shelter 7000
Bryston BDA2 + BDP2; ARC PH5; ARC Ref 5; ARC Ref 150, Equi=Tech Son of Q
Wilson Sophia 3; Transparent - cables
XLO - cables; Aural Symphonics - cords; Shunyata - cords
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-01-2011, 01:01 PM
slowGEEZR slowGEEZR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 1,566
Default

I run my integrated tube amp via 7 gauge power cords through a Humbuster 3 to the 20 amp dedicated line, in order to prevent any low level DC voltage from entering the amp transformers.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-01-2011, 08:06 PM
tdelahanty's Avatar
tdelahanty tdelahanty is offline
Audio,Trains & Mustangs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,396
Default

My amps are on a Furman Ref-20 thru a dedicated 20a circuit. All front-end equipment is on a Furman Ref-15 thru another dedicated 20a circuit.

Current limiting due to an inadequate conditioner is important, but also keep in mind your amps don't run at full power very often. The real world average current is much less than full power consumption.
__________________
System: ML:5206,5302 Serafino's Nordost Lumin U1 RM15
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-11-2011, 01:58 PM
bodiezaffa's Avatar
bodiezaffa bodiezaffa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 899
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteban View Post
That was my understanding as well, and the reason why I asked the original question in this thread. I use a PS Audio Duet, which supposedly is one of the few conditioners that does not limit the current flow. I am experimenting at the moment to see what sounds best, but my amp is really not too thirsty. The manual states a 250W consumption. Initial comparisons did not show any differences at all, truth be told (and I live in a condo). The biggest difference the PS made in my system was the improvement on the VIDEO side of things. The picture quality on my Panasonic plasma is definitely more stable, less "grainy", and contrast has a lot more "punch".

Thanks all for your input.
I too had the PS Audio Duet. I bought it the same time as my original amp and never did an a/b test.
About a yr later, I decided to listen with and without it to hear the difference. The Duet was put on Audiogon the next day.
I do think that the right conditioner can make moderate improvements in lowering the noise floor and increasing the sound quality but I haven’t done any research since then. I am looking once again but would really like to try and find something that will protect everything, take nothing away, add performance values but cost no more than a grand.
I’m still looking…..
__________________
Mark-
Krell Evolution Series 302e amp / Krell Evolution 202 Pre Amp / Auralic Aries G1 music server / MSB Analog DAC / Sonus Faber Amati Futura speakers / Bryston BIT20 power conditioner / Symposium Svette Plus Isolation Platform / Stillpoints Ultra 5's and Apeture panels/ Wireworld Silver, Gold and Platinum Eclipse cables
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-11-2011, 06:22 PM
scarpi scarpi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Phoenix Az.
Posts: 176
Default

I have my amp plugged into its own Shunyata Research Hydra Two which is plugged into a dedicated 20 amp line.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-11-2011, 08:06 PM
ehoove's Avatar
ehoove ehoove is offline
Old & New - Carpe Diem


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mid-Maryland
Posts: 4,584
Default

Sources yes. My 3 Power amps are plugged directly into a dedicated 20amp line, but you guy's have me thinking now!
Regards,
Jim
__________________
It's all about the Music, but I sure like the way my gear makes it come alive!

Main Rig > Audio Research LS17SE - MS Phonomena II+ (Jelco SA750L Arm), PS Audio GCPH (Audiomods Series 5 arm), Phonomena II+ (Clear Audio Verify CF arm, updated Aragon 4004 MkII(2) (Bass panels, and Subs), Quicksilver M60 MonoBlocks (JJ EL34L Blue bottle) (midrange panels) Quicksilver Mini Mono Blocks (JJ EL34L) (Ribbons) Beringer DCX2496 (analog outputs/power supply upgrades by Selectronic of France) - NHT X1 Crossovers, Clearaudio Solution w/Master Solution upgrades/Audiomods Series 5/ZYX R100 Yatra, Jelco 750L/Audio Technica AT33Mono, Marantz TT15S1/Clear Audio Verify CF/Shelter 501II, Sony SCD-XA5400ES SACD, Teac A4300 R2R, Dell Laptop w/Citypulse Audio DA-7.2x DAC, Maple Framed Magnepan MGIIIa(tri-amped), NHT W2 Sub(2)

Vintage > Yamaha C70 preamp, Yamaha T70 Tuner, Acurus A200 power amp, Modified Thorens TD125MkII/ClearAudio Satisfy Black/Hana SL, Marantz SA8003 SACD, Meridian Explorer, Yamaha NS690 MkI

Vintage II > Yamaha CA-800, Sony DVD NS900V SACD, Squeezebox Touch, Modified Sony SS-TL1 Transmission Line speakers, (Living Room) NHT1.3 (Gym)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-12-2011, 01:20 AM
dpgstereo's Avatar
dpgstereo dpgstereo is offline
Drummer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lake Placid, FL
Posts: 158
Default

Do you think a power conditioner is more effective on the front end or back end of your system? I had an issue with my MC134 locking up before I added a power conditioner. Voltage swing. After I added a power conditioner, no more issues. However, not sure if I can hear a differance with my 1201's connected to a power conditioner?
__________________
McIntosh:MX135,C2200(2),MVP861(2),MCD205(2),MR78(3),MC1201 (2),MC501,MC402(2),MC252,MC207,MCC602TM(2),MCC302;
B&W802D's;JLAudio:f113(3);
Genelic:1038B(2),1034BC,1032A(4),7071A(2);Lexicon:MC12B,RT20;Pioneer Elite:BDP-05FD;Runco VX1000ci;Stewart Greyhawk 120".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Audioaficionado.org tested by Norton Internet Security

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:23 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©Copyright 2009-2021 AudioAficionado.org.Privately owned, All Rights Reserved.
Audio Aficionado Sponsors
AudioAficionado Subscriber
AudioAficionado Subscriber
Inspire By Dennis Had
Inspire By Dennis Had
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Wyred4Sound
Wyred4Sound
Dragonfire Acoustics
Dragonfire Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
Esoteric
Esoteric
AC Infinity
AC Infinity
JL Audio
JL Audio
Add Powr
Add Powr
Legend Audio & Video
Legend Audio & Video
Audio by E
Audio by E
Canton
Canton
Bryston
Bryston
WireWorld Cables
WireWorld Cables
Stillpoints
Stillpoints
Bricasti Design
Bricasti Design
Furutech
Furutech
Shunyata Research
Shunyata Research
Accuphase
Accuphase