AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Audio & Video > CD Players, Digital Music & Servers

CD Players, Digital Music & Servers Aurender, dCs, Esoteric, Lumin.

Old 06-30-2021, 09:13 PM

Default Auralic Aries G 2.1 or Lumin U1 ?

I'm looking for a new streamer/network player.

I have a DAC I like.

Any opinions on these two great units?

User friendly and sound quality are my top priorities.

Any and all opinions are very much appreciated.
Old 07-01-2021, 02:11 AM
George

I owned an Aries G2. I actually liked the software better than the Aurender interface I use now. It was a good sounding unit. It might depend on what DAC you are using… mine was a bit too revealing and the noise floor was a bit high and caused central image confusion. That went away with the two Aurenders which I tried. At least that was my conclusion. So, I guess, it is like all components, they are somewhat dependent on the system you put it in. It is very well reviewed. I have no experience with the Lumina.
Main: Aurender W20SE music streamer, ARC REF 9SE DAC / CD, Linn LP 12, Koetsu Rosewood SignCartrige, ARC REF 3 Phono Stage, ARC REF 6SE Preamp, ARC 160s amp, Sonus Faber Amati Traditional Speakers,Transparent Ultra IC & SC Library:Aurender N100, Ayre QB9 2020 DAC, Woo WA5-LE amp upgraded tubes, Focal Utopia HP, Sennheiser 800s HP, LCD HP.
Old 07-01-2021, 03:54 AM
Member of the Music Squad

Deviating from your current shortlist but since you mentioned you'd appreciate all opinions I'd like to suggest the Innuos ZENith Mk3, which is a streamer-server-ripper, excellent built, sound quality and user interface, and can act as Roon end point. I'm using one in my main system with great satisfaction, coming from the Auralic original Aries which is now running in my secondary system.