AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > The Lounge > General Audio Discussion

General Audio Discussion All other Audio Q & A

Old 10-19-2020, 09:36 AM

Default Equipment Performance / Listening Space

I’m looking for some input on aligning equipment purchases with listening space.

On Saturday, I listened to top of the line CH Precision equipment and was very impressed. I have been considering their L1 preamp and the A1.5 amp. This purchase would be a considerable investment and I don’t want to pay for equipment performance I may not realize. My room is approximately 11 x 11 with 8 ft ceiling. If it has an impact, I have spent a good amount on room treatments.

Thanks in advance for your comments,
Old 10-19-2020, 11:28 AM
Semi-audiophile

While I'm no expert by any means (so consider the source), in the same situation I'd be most concerned about the speakers in that room, the type, their placement, and how they sound.

I have Mirage M-3si speakers, and at the demo the soundstage was crazy deep. In my room that's not the case because of how they're placed, along the long wall with sound flowing across the short dimension. And due to the equipment racks being between them, they're a bit further apart than what's ideal. My living room is 14' x 18.5' with an 11' ceiling. Since they have to fire across that 14 feet, with me about 9' away from the speaker plane, I'm not getting all the Mirages are capable of. Buying better equipment hasn't improved soundstaging, though the quality of the sound has. In addition, there are LP and CD cabinets on the wall behind the speakers which are surely diffusing the sound; The Mirages are bipolar and rely on those reflections to help create the dimensionality they can bring. They still sound good, it's just that I don't get everything they can produce.