AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Audio & Video > Remote Control

Remote Control Power is Nothing without Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-21-2015, 10:46 AM
Antonmb's Avatar
Antonmb Antonmb is online now
Senior Member


 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northwest Washington (Mt Baker foothills)
Posts: 8,101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antipop View Post
My understanding is that you need a live connection to the internet to use the app on your iPhone or iPad. However, the remote works fine without a connection. If I'm correct, I don't understand why they do it like that and I don't see the gain compared to my 900 if you still need a remote.
I don't use the app that often, but I was pretty sure it works without an Internet connection as long as my home wifi is working. I'll unplug the Internet and verify it when I get home this evening.
__________________
Tony
"Have you seen the stars tonight?"
________________________________
Main system: Linn Klimax Katalyst DSM; D’Agostino Momentum S250 & HD pre; Rega RP10 w/Rega Aphelion; Boulder 508; Sonus faber Amati Futura, REL Carbon Special; Shunyata Everest, Alpha & Sigma PC, Alpha IC & SC; UpTone EtherRegen; Quadraspire Sunoko-Vent T, ISOAcoustics Orea & HRS Damping

2nd system: Luxman SQ-N100, Sonus faber Minima Amator II, REL T-5, refurbished AR XA w/Nagaoka MP-200 & VPI cabling, Linn Klimax DSM Renew, Shunyata PS8 w/Defender & Viper, Nordost Blue Heaven PC & IC, Shunyata Venom sc, Symposium Svelte Shelves

Workshop: Vintage Yamaha CA-1010 & CT-1010, PSB Imagine Mini, Squeezebox Touch, Schiit BiFrost, AZ & WW cables

Digital Streaming source: SonicTransporter i7 w/Roon, Synology DS420+, English Electric 8switch

Personal audio: Woo WA22, WA7 & WA8; Auralic Aries Mini, Sonore MicroRendu & UltraRendu; Shure SE535, Shure SH1540, Westone ES50 Custom, Sennheiser HD820, MrSpeakers Aeon Flow C; Various Moon Audio dragons

Video: Sony XBR65X850C; Apple TV-4; Vienna Schönberg L/R, Webern center & surrounds; REL T1, T2, & T3; Arcam AVR850; Cambridge Audio 752BD; MIT-EXP SC
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-21-2015, 05:51 PM
Rod#S Rod#S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,744
Default

Thanks for the past few posts. I'm curious to see if it does still function when you disconnect the Internet.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-21-2015, 06:27 PM
scirica's Avatar
scirica scirica is offline
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: DFW Metroplex
Posts: 3,788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod#S View Post
Thanks for the past few posts. I'm curious to see if it does still function when you disconnect the Internet.
Theoretically it should only need your home network once everything is set up. Don't see why you'd need the Internet for the actual remote functionality.
__________________
Analog: VPI Classic Direct (12" Fatboy) with Ortofon A95 cartridge; Ortofon ST-80SE Transformer; McIntosh C2500.
Digital: SilenZio Gen 3 High Performance Media Server; Esoteric K-03X.
Supporting System: McIntosh MX122 A/V Center; MC205 Amplifier; Bryston 14bSST2 Amplifier; PS Audio P10 Power Reconditioner; Revel Salon 2 Mains; Revel Voice 2 CC; JL Audio f113v2 (2); JL Audio CR-1 Crossover; Focal IC1002 Surrounds; Paradigm Studio Sub 15.
Cabling: Wireworld Silver Eclipse XLR; Wireworld Silver Electra Power Cords; Wireworld Silver and Gold Eclipse RCA's, Audioquest Aspen Speaker Cables.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-21-2015, 10:38 PM
Antonmb's Avatar
Antonmb Antonmb is online now
Senior Member


 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northwest Washington (Mt Baker foothills)
Posts: 8,101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post
Theoretically it should only need your home network once everything is set up. Don't see why you'd need the Internet for the actual remote functionality.
you don't. I didn't think so either but I just verified to be sure: disconnected my modem and everything works as it should.
__________________
Tony
"Have you seen the stars tonight?"
________________________________
Main system: Linn Klimax Katalyst DSM; D’Agostino Momentum S250 & HD pre; Rega RP10 w/Rega Aphelion; Boulder 508; Sonus faber Amati Futura, REL Carbon Special; Shunyata Everest, Alpha & Sigma PC, Alpha IC & SC; UpTone EtherRegen; Quadraspire Sunoko-Vent T, ISOAcoustics Orea & HRS Damping

2nd system: Luxman SQ-N100, Sonus faber Minima Amator II, REL T-5, refurbished AR XA w/Nagaoka MP-200 & VPI cabling, Linn Klimax DSM Renew, Shunyata PS8 w/Defender & Viper, Nordost Blue Heaven PC & IC, Shunyata Venom sc, Symposium Svelte Shelves

Workshop: Vintage Yamaha CA-1010 & CT-1010, PSB Imagine Mini, Squeezebox Touch, Schiit BiFrost, AZ & WW cables

Digital Streaming source: SonicTransporter i7 w/Roon, Synology DS420+, English Electric 8switch

Personal audio: Woo WA22, WA7 & WA8; Auralic Aries Mini, Sonore MicroRendu & UltraRendu; Shure SE535, Shure SH1540, Westone ES50 Custom, Sennheiser HD820, MrSpeakers Aeon Flow C; Various Moon Audio dragons

Video: Sony XBR65X850C; Apple TV-4; Vienna Schönberg L/R, Webern center & surrounds; REL T1, T2, & T3; Arcam AVR850; Cambridge Audio 752BD; MIT-EXP SC
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-21-2015, 10:39 PM
Antonmb's Avatar
Antonmb Antonmb is online now
Senior Member


 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northwest Washington (Mt Baker foothills)
Posts: 8,101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antipop View Post
My understanding is that you need a live connection to the internet to use the app on your iPhone or iPad. However, the remote works fine without a connection. If I'm correct, I don't understand why they do it like that and I don't see the gain compared to my 900 if you still need a remote.
Georges, verified this evening, no internet required to operate.
__________________
Tony
"Have you seen the stars tonight?"
________________________________
Main system: Linn Klimax Katalyst DSM; D’Agostino Momentum S250 & HD pre; Rega RP10 w/Rega Aphelion; Boulder 508; Sonus faber Amati Futura, REL Carbon Special; Shunyata Everest, Alpha & Sigma PC, Alpha IC & SC; UpTone EtherRegen; Quadraspire Sunoko-Vent T, ISOAcoustics Orea & HRS Damping

2nd system: Luxman SQ-N100, Sonus faber Minima Amator II, REL T-5, refurbished AR XA w/Nagaoka MP-200 & VPI cabling, Linn Klimax DSM Renew, Shunyata PS8 w/Defender & Viper, Nordost Blue Heaven PC & IC, Shunyata Venom sc, Symposium Svelte Shelves

Workshop: Vintage Yamaha CA-1010 & CT-1010, PSB Imagine Mini, Squeezebox Touch, Schiit BiFrost, AZ & WW cables

Digital Streaming source: SonicTransporter i7 w/Roon, Synology DS420+, English Electric 8switch

Personal audio: Woo WA22, WA7 & WA8; Auralic Aries Mini, Sonore MicroRendu & UltraRendu; Shure SE535, Shure SH1540, Westone ES50 Custom, Sennheiser HD820, MrSpeakers Aeon Flow C; Various Moon Audio dragons

Video: Sony XBR65X850C; Apple TV-4; Vienna Schönberg L/R, Webern center & surrounds; REL T1, T2, & T3; Arcam AVR850; Cambridge Audio 752BD; MIT-EXP SC
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-22-2015, 07:19 AM
antipop's Avatar
antipop antipop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4,029
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antonmb View Post
Georges, verified this evening, no internet required to operate.
That's good news. So I guess they fixed it.

So you can use the app with no internet connected. You would only need to have the wifi working obviously.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-22-2015, 02:16 PM
Rod#S Rod#S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,744
Default

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-03-2015, 09:25 PM
Daryn67 Daryn67 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 11
Default

I have been using the Roomie app, and have even abandoned my Control4 in the livingroom in favor of it. I disconnected sat and went to broadcast tv and didn't want to pay my installer to come back out and reprogram so I thought what the heck, let's give it a try. I will continue to play and adjust but so far I love the function, just miss the hand held button style remote.


Daryn
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-25-2015, 07:04 AM
Rod#S Rod#S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,744
Default

I just recently ordered the Harmony Smart Home over the weekend, should be here late this week. For some reason all of a sudden my Harmony 1000 stopped being able to be updated, always stopped at 3%. I never had an issue with it before. After many failed attempts with my main laptop running Windows 8.1 I switched to my old laptop running Windows 7 but ran into the same issue. I had recently updated the remote back in June when I added the Bryston BDP-2 as a device and created an activity for it and there was no sign of any issues then.

If I had of left well enough alone the remote would still be useable but I thought perhaps reloading the firmware would fix the problem. The firmware was successfully reloaded so it's not as if communication to the remote can not be achieved but when loading the programming it failed again at 3%. So now the remote is useless

I also tried updating via the old web page and ran into a similar thing on both laptops, the update stops at step 3 every time. Step 3 comes up as 'Searching for Updated Information'. Perhaps something became corrupt in my account???

In an attempt to keep replacement costs down I decided to give the Smart Home a try as it was on sale for $99 essentially including the simple remote for free. I'm sure it will do the job but it just occurred to me this morning, I had to have my 1000 learn a lot of the commands from the original remotes. I suspect the Smart home, more likely it would be the Harmony hub is not a learning device? If that's the case then I'll still be stuck with keeping additional remotes out which is going to suck.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 08-25-2015, 09:31 AM
Rod#S Rod#S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,744
Default

Ah interesting. I was just poking around the Harmony site and found out the hub can in fact learn so I should be covered.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Audioaficionado.org tested by Norton Internet Security

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:19 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©Copyright 2009-2021 AudioAficionado.org.Privately owned, All Rights Reserved.
Audio Aficionado Sponsors
AudioAficionado Subscriber
AudioAficionado Subscriber
Inspire By Dennis Had
Inspire By Dennis Had
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Wyred4Sound
Wyred4Sound
Dragonfire Acoustics
Dragonfire Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
Esoteric
Esoteric
AC Infinity
AC Infinity
JL Audio
JL Audio
Add Powr
Add Powr
Legend Audio & Video
Legend Audio & Video
Audio by E
Audio by E
Canton
Canton
Bryston
Bryston
WireWorld Cables
WireWorld Cables
Stillpoints
Stillpoints
Bricasti Design
Bricasti Design
Furutech
Furutech
Shunyata Research
Shunyata Research
Accuphase
Accuphase