AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > Shunyata Research

Shunyata Research Designing Silent Systems for recording, film and music

Old 09-08-2021, 11:31 AM

Default Down the Shunyata Rabbit Hole--Now What?

I'm new to Audio Aficianado. I have a question about Shunyata power products.

I'm demoing a used Hydra Triton and Typhon QR on my front end components. While I've been impressed and swayed by Shunyata's videos and articles, I don't hear much, if any improvement, and if there is an improvement it is quite subtle. Not what I was expecting for a used component that cost as much as my new Holo Audio May DAC.

In for a penny, in for a pound, I ordered a Venom V12NR power cord. I first tried it on my phono stage with no change. I then swapped with my preamp, and things are sounding noticeably better (I had a Triode Wire Labs PC on the pre before the V12NR) and more engaging. Based on this positive result I ordered a couple more V14 digital cords to replace black cords on my turntable and DIY sub figuring I can move them around and listen for differences.

Just to educate myself (and because this is a hobby) I bought an Entec line noise monitor and an Ideal 61-164 line analyzer. The Shunyata Triton and Typhon reduces noise from 100 to ~80 on the Entec--quite a bit less than I expected based on the videos. The noise level dropped another ~10 when I plugged the V14NR into the Triton, so it's doing something systemically.