AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Guestbook > Personal Introductions

Personal Introductions Feel free to sign in

Old 05-19-2013, 01:38 AM

Hi, everyone. I'm new to AA, but I've been pursuing audio nirvana since my Virginia college days in the 1990s. My first introduction to a high fidelity system was through a Denon integrated amplifier, KEF speakers and a CD player I cannot remember. Before then I thought everyone heard music through a "boom box" and that all recordings basically sounded the same. Boy, was I wrong. My friend played for me some of his Telarc CDs and I was smitten. I did not know music could sound like that.

Before long I bought his system and upgraded it with a Counterpoint amplifier and drove it directly from the CD player's variable output. I was on my way. I kept salivating over all the great gear being in reviewed in Stereophile and Audio magazines. There were so many things out there that I did not know existed, but now I needed to have! (sound familiar?). As a college student in 1991, a $5,000 amp seemed way out of reach, but somehow I made things happen. With my graduate student stipend I was able to get a pair of PBS Stratus Golds (the "10,000 W speaker!" claimed the cover of Audio magazine). The Strats along with the Counterpoint had me on my way to where I am today. Of course, the Counterpoint was too small to drive the low impedance Strats, so it kept shutting off. I needed a bigger boat! (sound familiar?)