AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Audio & Video > CD Players, Digital Music & Servers

CD Players, Digital Music & Servers Aurender, dCs, Esoteric, Lumin.

Old 12-12-2020, 01:22 PM

Default Auralic vs Lumin and other questions

Ok, so now that I have been using Roon/Tidal for nearly two years and Qobuz more recently, I do not see myself ever giving up on that streaming model (let's hope the model succeeds long term for the streaming services).

So the time has come to split the system and my trusty Bryston BDP Pi will see use in another system.

As such I will be "upgrading" my streamer.

I actually have no complaints with the Bryston BDP Pi. It has served me very well and will continue to do so. I have compared SACD vs streaming of the same albums on Tidal and Qobuz and do not hear a meaningful or significant enough to my ears difference!

I am a bit skeptical that a new and much more expensive streamer will give me that much more over the Bryston but am willing to roll the dice...

As I mentioned, I primarily use Roon and have a lifetime subscription. I will continue using Roon for my main and desktop-late night headphone listening station.

In my main system I can continue using Roon or I can try alternatives.

It has been suggested by a knowledgeable party that Roon is not the best sounding interface and that a Aurender app sounds better. I cannot agree or disagree as I have never experienced Aurender app interface.

Looking to stay at $6k tops for the new streamer as I don't want to be stuck with an expensive and outdated equipment a few years down the road.

The digital gear evolves way too quickly for me to feel comfortable spending more than the mid four figures (or $6k and preferably a bit less!)

So what is the general consensus on the Auralic Aries G2 vs Lumin U1

Both of them fall right into that price range I am considering.