AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Audio & Video > General Speaker Discussion

General Speaker Discussion Calling all Speakers

Old 12-26-2020, 11:46 AM

Default Does Anyone Not Like Wilson Speakers?

Just curious if there are any former owners who moved on from Wilson Audio speakers and their reasons why?
Old 12-26-2020, 11:59 AM

I sold my Wilson Sophia 2 speakers and bought a pair of Sonus Faber Amati Futuras.

I could not listen to the Wilson’s for more than an hour without getting listener fatigue. The kind where you start turning the volume down until it might as well be off.

I have been enjoying the Futuras for many years now in two different homes and can listen at realistic volumes for hours and hours without fatigue.
Proac Response 1sc Rears,
Three MC2301's for L,C,R
MC 602 for the rears
C 1100, MX 151, MCD 1100, MR 80
Nottingham Dais with Wave Mechanic
Sumiko Palo Santos Presentation

SurfacePro 3, RPi 4, ROON, WW Starlight Platinum USB, Schiit Yggdrasil, Benchmark DAC3 HGC

MX 151, OppO BDP-95, JVC RS-500 DILA projector, 106" diagonal Stewart Luxus Screenwall Deluxe with Studiotek 130 G3 material.

Lake House:
Ohm F, MC 275V, C2300, MR 77, Rega P3

OnDeck:
McIntosh MAC 4300v
Old 12-26-2020, 12:30 PM
George

Over the last thirty years as I have built increasingly better systems I have auditioned dozens of system. One of the most memorable experiences was listening to a WHAM... or whatever they called it.. the speakers $375K, Rowland components, Transparent interconnects. I have never have been so struck by an incredible system. I said, “incredible!... but I do NOT want that! They sounded like a wonderful magic trick... one good for a little while and impressing others. Never paid any attention to Wilson after that. I enjoyed ribbon speakers, but for the last ten or fifteen years Sonus Faber, now Amati Traditional.