AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > Shunyata Research

Shunyata Research Designing Silent Systems for recording, film and music

Old 05-06-2021, 02:29 PM

Default NR Cables for Source Components with a Conditioner: Why?

Brain Trust,

Please explain to me why it is recommended to use NR cables with source components that are connected to a line conditioner? I would have thought an NR cable might be used for a conditioner in that it would cleanup up some noise prior to processing by the conditioner and that XC cables would be use for source components connected to the conditioner - which would be feeding said components cleaner power.

I am new to all of this, so please break it down for me...what am I missing here?

(NOTE: I purchased a Delta NR v2 and a couple Delta XC V2 cables for my McIntosh System: MA9000, MEN220, MCD6000, and MT-5 - all fed by a MPC1500).

Thanks!
Home Theater: McIntosh MX122, McIntosh MC207, McIntosh MPC1500, Oppo UDP-203, Sony VPL-VW715ES Projector, 106" Elite Screens Special Edition DarkStar screen, SVS Ultra Towers, SVS Ultra Center & Surround, and Duel SVS SB3000 subs, Audioquest RedRiver XLR, Audioquest Carbon HDMI, Audioquest NRG and Storm power cables, and Audioquest Ri1404 speaker cable with WBT-0645 banana plugs.
Home Office: McIntosh RS200
Two Channel Listing Area: McIntosh MA9000, MEN220, MT-5, MCD600, MPC1500, and XR100s. Apple Airport Express via TosLink (streaming Apple Music). McIntosh interconnects/speaker cable, Shunyata Delta NR and XC power cables, Furutech GXT-D NCR AC Receptacle/Wall Plate/Outlet Cover.

Last edited by Craig_B; 05-06-2021 at 05:55 PM. Reason: typo
Old 05-06-2021, 03:40 PM

One possible answer is to filter out noise coming back down the line from the component itself.

Another is to compliment the NR capabilities, or lack thereof sufficient degree in the non-specified conditioner.
Old 05-06-2021, 03:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCAudiophile View Post