AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Audio & Video > CD Players, Digital Music & Servers

CD Players, Digital Music & Servers Aurender, dCs, Esoteric, Lumin.

Old 10-23-2015, 12:02 AM

Default Trying to understand music servers

I am new to the world of HD audio. When I was last into high end audio it was analog (CDs were just emerging). It was clear how subtleties affected the music, cabling, enclosures, etc. I am not new to the digital world however, in fact I am a software engineer and have been for quite some time. How it relates to HD audio is new to me however.

I am trying to understand how all of this new world is interrelated. I am not trying to be facetious or disingenuous, but instead really trying to understand this new world (to me anyway).

Which brings me to high end music servers. I am trying to understand how this all interrelates and how it all affects and relates to the end product, the music I hear.

For example, I see music servers that are in essences control units. They stream the music from a network storage device through either wireless or a preferred CAT5 cable and sends it digitally through a USB cable to my DAC which converts the 1s and 0s to analog music which is intern amplified and played through my headphones or speakers. I am told that these devices will sound better than the same 1s and 0s being pumped directly out of a computer through a USB cable into the DAC. Therefore the signal traveling from a spinning hard drive, through network routers, switches, and either through the airwaves or through a CAT5 cable into another device and then sent out through a USB cable before reaching the DAC will sound better than the signal coming off a SSD straight into the USB and into my DAC.