AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Audio & Video > Home Theater

Home Theater Novice to Sublime

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-02-2022, 01:08 PM
doggiehowser's Avatar
doggiehowser doggiehowser is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,411
Default

Sadly no. Anthem like Classé don’t support DSD.

Must be a Canadian thing.

Thing is - if you engage any room correction on the Marantz or Yamaha or Onkyo etc that do decide DSD, it gets converted back to PCM anyway.

I did choose my Marantz AVP for the DSD playback but I felt that I primarily used it for movies - and the Anthem was better for that purpose.
__________________
AcousSignThunderTA5000PurpleHeartNS WandMasterPearwoodII PSA DSD BHK ThielCS3.7SS2.2
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-02-2022, 01:34 PM
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
Kal Rubinson Kal Rubinson is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bart View Post
One question: can you play multi-channel DSD from a SACD-player from your Anthem (without conversion to PCM in between)?
IIRC, no Anthem device supports DSD (SACD) directly and requires they be converted to PCM in the player.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-02-2022, 02:49 PM
bart's Avatar
bart bart is offline
Life is beautiful


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 19,710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post
IIRC, no Anthem device supports DSD (SACD) directly and requires they be converted to PCM in the player.

Thank you Kal!
I was hoping you would chime in.

What is your experience with Anthem processors?
I read very positive reviews of them.

Is the added sound quality compared to the Marantz - if there is any - neutralised by the extra conversion DSD -> PCM?

I listen to my SACDs in pure audio mode. No Audyssey correction here. It didn't add, it took away in my experience.
__________________
Stereo: Hegel H590, Grimm Audio MU1, Mola Mola Tambaqui, Burmester 948 - V3 & V6 racks, Vivid Audio G2 Giyas, REL Carbon Special (pair), Silent Angel Bonn N8 Ethernet Switch & Forester F1, Wireworld Platinum Eclipse IC and SE SC, Furutech Digiflux
AV: Hegel C-53, Marantz AV8802A, Oppo BDP-203EU, Pioneer Kuro 60", Vivid Audio C1 & V1w's, Wireworld Platinum Eclipse, SE & E
Second system (veranda): Halgorythme preamp and monoblocks, Burmester 061, Avalon Avatar, Sharkwire & Wireworld cables
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-02-2022, 02:50 PM
bart's Avatar
bart bart is offline
Life is beautiful


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 19,710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doggiehowser View Post
Sadly no. Anthem like Classé don’t support DSD.

Must be a Canadian thing.

Thing is - if you engage any room correction on the Marantz or Yamaha or Onkyo etc that do decide DSD, it gets converted back to PCM anyway.

I did choose my Marantz AVP for the DSD playback but I felt that I primarily used it for movies - and the Anthem was better for that purpose.

Thank you for your answer.
In our case we listen to music 95% of the time, and watch movies less than 5%.
We do find the Marantz does a pretty good job at that.
__________________
Stereo: Hegel H590, Grimm Audio MU1, Mola Mola Tambaqui, Burmester 948 - V3 & V6 racks, Vivid Audio G2 Giyas, REL Carbon Special (pair), Silent Angel Bonn N8 Ethernet Switch & Forester F1, Wireworld Platinum Eclipse IC and SE SC, Furutech Digiflux
AV: Hegel C-53, Marantz AV8802A, Oppo BDP-203EU, Pioneer Kuro 60", Vivid Audio C1 & V1w's, Wireworld Platinum Eclipse, SE & E
Second system (veranda): Halgorythme preamp and monoblocks, Burmester 061, Avalon Avatar, Sharkwire & Wireworld cables

Last edited by bart; 01-02-2022 at 06:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-02-2022, 04:35 PM
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
Kal Rubinson Kal Rubinson is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bart View Post
What is your experience with Anthem processors?
Limited and ancient.

Quote:
Is the added sound quality compared to the Marantz - if there is any - neutralised by the extra conversion DSD -> PCM?
In practice, no because any processing/EQ requires PCM conversion on any machine.

Quote:
I listen to my SACDs in pure audio mode. No Audyssey correction here. It didn't add, it took away in my experience.
Then I'd find a way to bypass the prepro, whichever one you choose.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-02-2022, 06:03 PM
bart's Avatar
bart bart is offline
Life is beautiful


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 19,710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

Then I'd find a way to bypass the prepro, whichever one you choose.

Thanks again Kal.

But I do use the DACs in my Marantz. I think they're better than the ones in my Oppo.
I know an exaSound S88 MII would provide better sound, but I haven't found a way around this problem: I have my Marantz (still needed for Apple TV/Netflix, if only occasionally) connected to my power amps via RCA. I could add a S88 via XLR, but then I'd have to switch the Hegel in the back each time I switch from the Marantz to the S88...

That's why I'm searching for a one box solution. If the Anthem will be Roon ready, it could do the streaming + SACDs + Apple TV (we don't watch cable TV anymore).

Sorry for hijacking this thread a bit, but it might be relevant for other members too.
__________________
Stereo: Hegel H590, Grimm Audio MU1, Mola Mola Tambaqui, Burmester 948 - V3 & V6 racks, Vivid Audio G2 Giyas, REL Carbon Special (pair), Silent Angel Bonn N8 Ethernet Switch & Forester F1, Wireworld Platinum Eclipse IC and SE SC, Furutech Digiflux
AV: Hegel C-53, Marantz AV8802A, Oppo BDP-203EU, Pioneer Kuro 60", Vivid Audio C1 & V1w's, Wireworld Platinum Eclipse, SE & E
Second system (veranda): Halgorythme preamp and monoblocks, Burmester 061, Avalon Avatar, Sharkwire & Wireworld cables
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-02-2022, 06:53 PM
thxthx's Avatar
thxthx thxthx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,781
Default

My next purchase will be the McIntosh MX123, after which I feel I’m done with any future upgrades. Personally I cannot find a better home theatre processor on the market. There are more expensive Mc processors, but for me they come with a bunch of features I’ll never use. I currently use the MX121 which I love, and only really looking to upgrade to get Dolby Atmos.
__________________
Trevor's Home Theatre: McIntosh MX121, McIntosh MC601, McIntosh MC207, McIntosh MLD7020, OPPO BDP95, JVC DLA950, Stewert Screen Studio Tek 130G3, B&W 802D2, B&W HTM2D2, B&W DS8, Klipsch KL 525, Velodyne DD15, WireWorld & IsoTek Cables

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-02-2022, 08:33 PM
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
Kal Rubinson Kal Rubinson is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bart View Post
I could add a S88 via XLR, but then I'd have to switch the Hegel in the back each time I switch from the Marantz to the S88...
You could use the RCA outputs of the s88 (or the e68) with a simple RCA switch. Or you could feed the RCA outputs of the DAC into the 7.1 inputs of the Marantz.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-03-2022, 12:09 AM
SomeGeoffGuy SomeGeoffGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 60
Default

Emotiva just dropped a new basic 13.2 processor for $1000. It is exactly what I am looking for - something to take all my HDMI connectors, decode them, then send sound channels to my amps. It has their in house room correction too. I am using my Oppo for processing right now but it only has one HDMI input and I really need need 3. Mcintosh has something similar but it is $5000.

I like the Anthem and Marantz mega-processors but it seems like I am paying for a bunch of redundant features. I just need HDMI processing and switching!

-Geoff
__________________
MAC6700 , Klipsch RF7-III, Oppo UDP-205. Other stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-03-2022, 11:14 AM
bart's Avatar
bart bart is offline
Life is beautiful


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 19,710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post
You could use the RCA outputs of the s88 (or the e68) with a simple RCA switch. Or you could feed the RCA outputs of the DAC into the 7.1 inputs of the Marantz.

Thanks again Kal!
The RCA switch is a very interesting idea.
Any brands worth exploring?
__________________
Stereo: Hegel H590, Grimm Audio MU1, Mola Mola Tambaqui, Burmester 948 - V3 & V6 racks, Vivid Audio G2 Giyas, REL Carbon Special (pair), Silent Angel Bonn N8 Ethernet Switch & Forester F1, Wireworld Platinum Eclipse IC and SE SC, Furutech Digiflux
AV: Hegel C-53, Marantz AV8802A, Oppo BDP-203EU, Pioneer Kuro 60", Vivid Audio C1 & V1w's, Wireworld Platinum Eclipse, SE & E
Second system (veranda): Halgorythme preamp and monoblocks, Burmester 061, Avalon Avatar, Sharkwire & Wireworld cables
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Audioaficionado.org tested by Norton Internet Security

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©Copyright 2009-2022 AudioAficionado.org.Privately owned, All Rights Reserved.
Audio Aficionado Sponsors
AudioAficionado Subscriber
AudioAficionado Subscriber
Inspire By Dennis Had
Inspire By Dennis Had
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Harmonic Resolution Systems
Wyred4Sound
Wyred4Sound
Dragonfire Acoustics
Dragonfire Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
GIK Acoustics
Esoteric
Esoteric
AC Infinity
AC Infinity
JL Audio
JL Audio
Add Powr
Add Powr
Legend Audio & Video
Legend Audio & Video
Audio by E
Audio by E
Canton
Canton
Bryston
Bryston
WireWorld Cables
WireWorld Cables
Stillpoints
Stillpoints
Bricasti Design
Bricasti Design
Furutech
Furutech
Shunyata Research
Shunyata Research
Accuphase
Accuphase