AudioAficionado.org  

Go Back   AudioAficionado.org > Manufacturers Forums > Accuphase

Accuphase Enrich Life through Technology

Old 05-29-2016, 04:31 AM

Default Accuphase Pre / Power gain settings

Hi everyone,
I have an Accuphase set - C-2120 + A65 which I have been enjoying for a couple of months now. As you know - both pre and power have selectable gain switches.
Since I do not trust my own ability to decide by ear yet, I was wondering what friends here choose for these settings.
Right now i'm on +18db on the Pre (which is the default) and on -12db on the power (just because I saw in the specs that the SNR is better in this setting).

I would be glad to hear your opinion,

Thanks,
Simon
Old 05-29-2016, 06:41 AM

Simon:
I keep my C-2420 in 18db. My older A-50V doesn't have gain adjustment so I can't comment on that. I didn't notice any quality difference between the setting so I just left it in -18db.

Last edited by wawa_chan; 05-31-2016 at 01:51 PM.
Old 05-31-2016, 05:55 AM

In this review about the C-2120 ("Stereo" magazine from Germany, translated by Accuphase) http://accuphase.com/review_pdf/STER...0_01_2015e.pdf

they say:

(...) It also defines the sound character of the C-2120 and validates simultaneously the HiFi wisdom, which warns from little accentuation. Then the Pre-amp only offers in the “12 dB” position maximum, roomy, light and fanned out sound patterns. Already at “18 dB” it sounds a little tighter and more compact, what can be exciting with pop music, but doesn’t transfer as exhilarating and airy as before, furthermore the mid tones gain a little more severe diction.
“24” dB might allow to enhance consumptively pale sources such as Portis, but the C-2120 in turn looses much of its audiophile qualities

And about the Gain selector on P-4200, also reviewed, they say:

It’s gain selector with the positions “MAX”, “-3 dB”, “-6 dB” and “-12 dB” lowers just the input signal and not the tonal brisance of the “GAIN” – switch of the Power amp.