AudioAficionado.org

AudioAficionado.org (https://www.audioaficionado.org/index.php)
-   McIntosh Audio (https://www.audioaficionado.org/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   McIntosh’s Use of Opamps (https://www.audioaficionado.org/showthread.php?t=51854)

dkorbal 12-26-2022 12:58 PM

McIntosh’s Use of Opamps

I was reading over my Baltic 3 manual this morning and can across this …..

“ LampizatOr DAC should not be used with opamp based preamp, no matter how good. Because the op-amp feedback loops will remove the whole joy of music as delivered by the tubed DAC.”

I am NOT an expert when it comes to EE knowledge. I’m am ME :D so this statement has me asking a lot of questions. Question such as:

1) I understand what opamps ARE but what is Lampizator referring to by the statement “opamp based preamp”?
2) More importantly is my Mac equipment considered “opamp based”? If so, is it removing “the whole joy of music”?
3) The path the signal travels is Baltic3 > C2700 > MEN220 > MC601 > 803D3. Is the MEN220 defeating the purpose?

My ears tell me adding the Baltic 3 increased my enjoyment of listening so my questions are not for confirmation but more of gathering information for possible tweaks down the road. Any help on the subject would be appreciated.

Masterlu 12-26-2022 04:36 PM

From multiple personal experiences; your question about the MEN220. I have consistently found that the MEN220 does in fact introduce more issues, than it solves.

So did the late Dan aka jdandy.

There are high end room correction devices available; they perform this function completely in the digital domain, however they are quite expensive at $25K. I own, and use two of them. YMMV

j3brow 12-26-2022 07:09 PM

McIntosh’s Use of Opamps

Well, yes. IMO.

The MEN220 converts the analog signal to digital then back to analog after running room correction. Ultimately, the sound will only be as good as the DAC in the 220 is capable of since you are hearing the sound of that dac at the end of the day.