AudioAficionado.org

AudioAficionado.org (https://www.audioaficionado.org/index.php)
-   Remote Control (https://www.audioaficionado.org/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   Logitech Harmony Hub Setup, the SMART Universal Remote (https://www.audioaficionado.org/showthread.php?t=44260)

jdandy 11-06-2018 12:27 PM

Logitech Harmony Hub Setup, the SMART Universal Remote
 
The Logitech Harmony Hub allows you to easily connect your entire entertainment center together and control the whole thing with one remote or your smartphone!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XgbdBfTUr30

ssto5535 11-06-2018 01:45 PM

Hi Dan, I have a Harmony Hub with the Companion remote and it has worked well for me. I have had it for about a year. The remote has great feel, it controls all of my HT devices well (even my 20 year old Marantz), and it was easy to set up. Having now used an RF remote + Hub, I could not go back to a directional IR control.

The only issue I have experienced with the hub is that it will often drop off my Wifi Network for a minute or two (there is no Ethernet connector on the back otherwise it would be wired in). I tried two different hubs, both experienced this issue. The workaround was to switch the Hub from using Wifi to control of my Roku to IR. IR works better anyways, the Roku receives IR remote signals more quickly than over Wifi so I can fast forward through commercials more quickly. Overall, Logitech tech support was helpful and easy to work with. I don't use smartphone control except to adjust remote settings occasionally.

jdandy 11-06-2018 01:53 PM

Scott.......Good to hear you are a satisfied Logitech customer. The Harmony Hub is quite sophisticated in its ability to provide and store all of the various remote commands and ingeniously create macros for the various viewing scenarios.

Poppyhome 11-06-2018 01:56 PM

Yes I use the Harmony Elite with Alexa and it is awesome. :thumbsup:

Simple to use and simple to program most any component.

Ron

SAPHANA 11-06-2018 02:17 PM

I have 4 Harmony hub/remote, from the $100 touch screen one to the $50 screenless one, to the simple 650, for my different systems. They do what they are supposed to do, even though I still think the non-smart 650 works best for most of my purposes.

When it comes to McIntosh systems, because of the existing triggers, many times I found harmony hub/remotes to be redundant or even cumbersome.

In my home, the only place where I really love the harmony hub, is my media room, because my equipments don't support trigger and are in my back so hard to point remotes to, and I have so many "scenarios" with so many different devices.

edkoz 11-06-2018 02:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Poppyhome (Post 939073)
Yes I use the Harmony Elite with Alexa and it is awesome. :thumbsup:

Simple to use and simple to program most any component.

Ron

I have the same setup with Alexa. It works flawlessly. My sons were impressed that their dad had set up the system all by himself. What is nice I also control the lights as well with the alexa.
If you are thinking about getting a new remote, the Harmony Elite with the hub and Alexa should be on your short list.
Ed

ptman 11-06-2018 07:24 PM

Agreed. I recently replaced most of my home theater gear (NAD M17 pre/pro, Cambridge Blu-Ray/4K, LG OLED) and also replaced my Philips remote with the Harmony Elite and Hub.

Easy to program, works very well...a little shy on customization compared to the upper level Philips, but also less than half the price, with more core features.

Very satisfied.

Weirdcuba 11-06-2018 10:19 PM

Not a fan. Canít get it to work reliably. Likely a user error, but just doesnít work every time I pick it up. More frustrating than if it never worked.

SAPHANA 11-06-2018 11:02 PM

Logitech Harmony Hub Setup, the SMART Universal Remote
 
Some devices have Linux as operating systems so need a long time to start. For those devices, sometimes Harmony does not work well, especially if you want to program your device to switch to a specific mode once itís started. The delay settings do not work all the times in this situation.

Poppyhome 11-06-2018 11:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAPHANA (Post 939157)
Some devices have Linux as operating systems so need a long time to start. For those devices, sometimes Harmony does not work well, especially if you want to program your device to switch to a specific mode once itís started. The delay settings do not work all the times in this situation.

You can delay up to 60 seconds and can adjust the component sequence order. :yes:

Ron


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©Copyright 2009-2021 AudioAficionado.org.Privately owned, All Rights Reserved.