AudioAficionado.org

AudioAficionado.org (https://www.audioaficionado.org/index.php)
-   Revel Speakers (https://www.audioaficionado.org/forumdisplay.php?f=172)
-   -   Audio Research amp for Revel Salon 2 (https://www.audioaficionado.org/showthread.php?t=49768)

Paulvo 04-10-2021 12:43 PM

Audio Research amp for Revel Salon 2

Hi, I’m a newbie here so I need your advice. I always had Mcintosh gear for the past 25 years, last year I bought a pair Revel Salon 2 speakers and I really like it , I have Mcintosh MC601s and C2600 preamp but somehow I don’t like bass in this systems so I want to make change , I just bought a Ref6 pre and I’m looking for a new amp . Any recommend from current Salon 2 owner are welcome . Do you think any Audio Research amp that has enough power to drive the Salon 2 ? Here is the list of amp that I heard very good on the review .
- Krell FPB600 , FPB 700cx or 450 cx
- Hegel H30
- Pass labs X350.5 or X.350.8
- Audio Research Ref 75se .
Please let me know what’s your thought.
Thanks
Paul

George Prentice 04-10-2021 08:04 PM

To me what you describe is the Mac sound, a bit heavy on the bass, good midrange, light on detail. I normally would recommend all Audio Research gear. I was shocked by how synergistic it is. But I am not sure the ARC 75se will be up to it. 86db sensitivity of the speakers is my concern. Someone else chime in if you disagree. But the REF160m maybe s would probably have enough power. What kind of music do you listen to? That could swing the argument. I owned a Pass x350 for many years with several different Sonus Speakers. I loved it. Great slam and detail. Only small risk would be you might loose a bit too much midrange. With ARC it is just right. I know Krell as well... could go either way.