AudioAficionado.org

AudioAficionado.org (https://www.audioaficionado.org/index.php)
-   Shunyata Research (https://www.audioaficionado.org/forumdisplay.php?f=128)
-   -   NR Cables for Source Components with a Conditioner: Why? (https://www.audioaficionado.org/showthread.php?t=49854)

Craig_B 05-06-2021 02:29 PM

NR Cables for Source Components with a Conditioner: Why?

Brain Trust,

Please explain to me why it is recommended to use NR cables with source components that are connected to a line conditioner? I would have thought an NR cable might be used for a conditioner in that it would cleanup up some noise prior to processing by the conditioner and that XC cables would be use for source components connected to the conditioner - which would be feeding said components cleaner power.

I am new to all of this, so please break it down for me...what am I missing here?

(NOTE: I purchased a Delta NR v2 and a couple Delta XC V2 cables for my McIntosh System: MA9000, MEN220, MCD6000, and MT-5 - all fed by a MPC1500).

Thanks!

SCAudiophile 05-06-2021 03:40 PM

One possible answer is to filter out noise coming back down the line from the component itself.

Another is to compliment the NR capabilities, or lack thereof sufficient degree in the non-specified conditioner.

kennyb123 05-06-2021 03:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCAudiophile (Post 1037954)
One possible answer is to filter out noise coming back down the line from the component itself.

Yes this is it, I think. The conditioner performs better with less noise dumped onto it. I have heard this myself with the Venom V12 Digital cord making it seem as though my Denali was reducing noise more effectively.

SackATK 05-06-2021 06:41 PM