AudioAficionado.org

AudioAficionado.org (https://www.audioaficionado.org/index.php)
-   Home Theater (https://www.audioaficionado.org/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Projector Replacement Lamps (https://www.audioaficionado.org/showthread.php?t=50840)

thxthx 02-06-2022 10:38 PM

Projector Replacement Lamps

I'm a big believer in genuine products and replacing parts with genuine parts. However, when I look at the price of a new lamp for my JVC projector, the genuine part cost is over 3 times that of other products.

Does any one have experience with non-genuine lamp replacements for their projector? What is the quality like and does it make a difference? I could buy 3 non-genuine lamps for the cost of a JVC replacement, but if the quality is not there in the picture I'd be reluctant to buy non-genuine, but also reluctant to pay 3 times for the same result.

hobie1dog 02-07-2022 04:00 PM

I've been using projectors for 20 years for home theaters, including sports bars, etc and have replaced my share of bulbs, but beware that 90% of all of the non-factory/genuine OEM bulbs will not have the same Lumens as the original, and also normally will not give you the same life.

audioguy3107 02-07-2022 08:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thxthx (Post 1054917)
I'm a big believer in genuine products and replacing parts with genuine parts. However, when I look at the price of a new lamp for my JVC projector, the genuine part cost is over 3 times that of other products.

Does any one have experience with non-genuine lamp replacements for their projector? What is the quality like and does it make a difference? I could buy 3 non-genuine lamps for the cost of a JVC replacement, but if the quality is not there in the picture I'd be reluctant to buy non-genuine, but also reluctant to pay 3 times for the same result.