AudioAficionado.org

AudioAficionado.org (https://www.audioaficionado.org/index.php)
-   Power Conditioners (https://www.audioaficionado.org/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Do you connect your amp to your power conditioner? (https://www.audioaficionado.org/showthread.php?t=8546)

esteban 05-31-2011 06:52 AM

Do you connect your amp to your power conditioner?
 
Do you connect your amp, power amp or receiver to your power conditioner? Or do you prefer to get power straight from the wall and use your conditioner for the pre-amp, sources, etc? If so, why?

Just curious to read your comments and experiences on the subject.

bart 05-31-2011 07:36 AM

I connect all my electronics to the power conditioner.
The manufacturer recommends it.

Robert_Anderson 05-31-2011 08:06 AM

Yes, my big Krells are fed power via Shunyata Hydra 2's.

hkval 05-31-2011 09:04 AM

MC1.2KW plus sources on each Power Plus 2000. Amplifiers love "gourmet food" as much as sources do.:thumbsup:

Masterlu 05-31-2011 09:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hkval (Post 169491)
MC1.2KW plus sources on each Power Plus 2000. Amplifiers love "gourmet food" as much as sources do.:thumbsup:

How eloquent! :beatnik:

Yes, me too! :yes:

Jem666 05-31-2011 02:24 PM

2 x MC501, pre and all sources plus 55" LCD on one PurePower 2000...even at insane levels I cannot get the PP to reach its limit.

-E- 05-31-2011 02:49 PM

Short answer: Yes.

Long answer: Yes.

Feed the amps with the cleanest possible power.

skunark 05-31-2011 03:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bart (Post 169482)
I connect all my electronics to the power conditioner.
The manufacturer recommends it.

That's not at all true. Most manufacturers don't recommend it because most power conditioners are current limiting. If you don't have an adequate power conditioner it will actually limit the current draw on your amp impacting it's ability to drive the speakers.

Also you can run the risk of ruining your power conditioner if the current draw exceeds it's specification.

BTW, I do run with Power Conditioner on my Amp.

Puma Cat 05-31-2011 03:22 PM

No, I don't; it's connected directly to the wall. My understanding is that the Running Springs Conditioners are thie one that best support an amp plugged into them. Don't know about the PPCs, though.

bart 05-31-2011 03:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by skunark (Post 169526)
That's not at all true. Most manufacturers don't recommend it because most power conditioners are current limiting. If you don't have an adequate power conditioner it will actually limit the current draw on your amp impacting it's ability to drive the speakers.

Also you can run the risk of ruining your power conditioner if the current draw exceeds it's specification.

BTW, I do run with Power Conditioner on my Amp.

You're absolutely right. Burmester also gives the advice to use 2 948's when you have 2 of their mighty 909 power amps; my set-up is more modest though and the 948 provides plenty of pure juice for all my equipment. It got a Golden Ear Award from TAS a couple of years ago by the way.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
ęCopyright 2009-2021 AudioAficionado.org.Privately owned, All Rights Reserved.